Arts Advisory Committee


  • 4:00 pm
  • Second Wednesday of every month
  • Human Resources Conference Room
    Lower level of City Hall

Commission Responsibilities

The Arts Advisory Committee’s mission is to promote the creation, understanding, appreciation, and awareness of the arts in the City. This Committee acts in an advisory capacity to the Mayor and City Council on matters related to the arts and cultural development of the City. They also work as a liaison to and in partnership with local, regional, state, or national arts organizations as appropriate to foster support for the arts. They actively determine ways in which the arts can enhance the quality of life in the City and foster community economic and social growth. The Committee has had several accomplishments. To view photos of public art in the City of Rock Island please visit the following album Public Art.

The Arts Advisory Committee drafted the Rock Island Arts Plan with the goal of increasing the level of arts activity and awareness in the community, citywide.

In 2014, the Arts Advisory Committee decided to revisit the Arts Plan to celebrate successes, evaluate shortcomings, and ultimately expand the City’s arts program to address citywide arts initiatives and not simply focus on the downtown area. Two public meetings were held in 2013; everyone who had an interest in the Rock Island arts was invited to attend and give input. Local artists shared their ideas on how to grow and enhance all forms of art in Rock Island. The new plan emphasizes expanding Rock Island's art scene, sourcing funding, supporting art education, and partnering with local organizations to promote Rock Island art and cultural events outside of the Quad Cities.


  • Brett Hitchcock Chair Term expires June 2018
  • Tony Seabott Term expires June 2018
  • Carolyn Krueger
    Term expires June 2018
  • Lori Roderick
    Term expires June 2019
  • Alex McFarland Term expires June 2018
  • Erik Reader Term expires June 2019
  • Dawn Wohlford-Metallo
    Term expires June 2019
  • Joedy Cook Term expires June 2019
  • Jodie Kavensky Term expires June 2018