Preservation Commission


  • 5:00 pm
  • Third Wednesday of every month
  • Generally meets in the City Council Chambers, Third Floor, City Hall

Commission Responsibilities

The Rock Island Preservation Commission was created in 1984 for the purpose of identifying such property, structures or areas within the City of Rock Island, Illinois that are historically significant.

The Preservation Commission performs the landmark designation of significant property, structures and historic districts and advises the City Council if such designations are appealed. It is the duty of the Preservation Commission to protect the distinctive visual characteristics of landmarks and historic districts by reviewing, giving advice and passing upon changes to their exterior architectural appearance. The Preservation Commission also takes a lead role in educating the public as regards the architectural and historical heritage of our community.

Application, Schedule & Deadlines

Certificate of Appropriateness applications are available at City Hall, second floor and online.

Meeting schedule and application deadline information is available online.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are also available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All


  • Brent Bogan
    Term expires March 2019
  • Leigh Ayers 
    Term expires March 2019
  • Susan Swords
    Term expires March 2019
  • John Daley
    Term expires June 2020
  • Linda Anderson                           Term expires May 2020
  • Margaret Morse
    Term expires June 2018
  • Elizabeth Anne DeLong        Term expires March 2018
  • Paul Fessler
    Term expires March 2018
  • Robert Braun
    Term expires June 2020

Associate Members

  • Wendy Rowand
    Term expires May 2018
  • Daryl Empen
    Term expires May 2018
  • Jeff Dismer (Architect)
    Term expires May 2018
  • Diane Oestreich (Pres. Society)
    Term expires May 2018