Memorial & Awards Ceremony

Memorial service speakerDr. King Jr. Memorial Service & Awards

Every year on the third Monday of January, the Center hosts the Annual Dr. King Jr. Memorial Service and Awards celebration honoring the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Nominations & Awards

During this event, the I Have A Dream Award and the Tia Farrah Rice Award are presented to acknowledge contributions made to the community by Rock Island residents.

Submit a Nomination

The Center is seeking nominations from citizens, agencies, schools, churches, and organizations throughout the City of Rock Island and the Quad Cities. Nominations are reviewed and winners are selected by the Martin Luther King Memorial Service Award Committee.

Please note:
The deadline for returning both the Adult Nomination and Youth Nomination forms is on the third Friday of December.

Award Selection Criteria

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominee must be a current or former citizen of the City of Rock Island.
  • Nominee must not have a current affiliation with the Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Center as a staff member or as a member of any organization that has been created by the center.
  • Nominee may have a former affiliation with the Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Center if the affiliation was terminated at least one year prior to the award date.
  • The contribution of the nominee must have benefited City of Rock Island residents.

Submission of Completed Nomination Form

Nominations are to be submitted no later than 5:00 pm on the third Friday in December to Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Center.


The award committee, with the approval of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Center Board, shall determine the annual award recipients for each year. Recipients will be announced during the program.