Election Information

The Seven Wards of Rock Island

Municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years, and terms of office expire every four years. Registered voters in each ward elect an alderman. Seven wards comprise the geographic area of the City of Rock Island. Each alderman is required to be a resident of that ward.

Request an Individual Ward Map

Individual ward maps are available from the Office of the City Clerk upon request.

Election Packets

Packets of election information and forms are prepared by the City Clerk in September prior to the election year and are available to persons interested in becoming an elected official.

An individual that has completed the requirements may file for their office with the City Clerk in November.