Liquor Control Commission


Liquor Commission Hearings are scheduled on a "As Needed" basis in accordance with Sec 3-3 of the local Code of Ordinances - "Remedies for Violation". 

If a hearing is needed, it is usually scheduled on the 2nd Tuesday of a month at 4 pm in the City Council Chambers, 3rd Floor of City Hall, 1528 3rd Avenue, Rock Island.

Per this ordinance, notices of these hearings are posted and all parties are notified at least 3 days prior to the date set for the meeting. 

The meeting is open to the public. 

Commission Responsibilities

The Mayor serves as the local liquor control commissioner for the area that lies inside the corporate limits of the City and is charged with the administration of the laws of the state as they relate to licensing within the City.

The Mayor appoints people to assist him in the exercises of these powers and together they constitute the local liquor commission. As a commission, they seek to promote the health, welfare, and safety of the citizens of the City by regulation and control of the sale of alcoholic liquor.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 
Most Recent Agendas | View All Agendas
Minutes are also available following approval. 
Most Recent Minutes


Mike Thoms, Mayor
Liquor Commissioner
Dennis E. Pauley
Deputy Liquor Commissioner
Term expires April 2023
Liz Sherwin
Term expires April 2022
Don Mewes
Term expires April 2023
Blaine McCoy
Term expires April 2022
John Wright
Term expires April 2024